CEGSA representatives (photos from CEASA photo gallery)

Internationally World Teachers’ Day is celebrated on the first Friday in October.  Australia celebrates the day on the last Friday in October of each year, as it would be quite a challenge to celebrate on the international date which is usually in our October holidays.

World Teachers’ Day was inaugurated on 5th October 1994 by the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) to commemorate the 1966 joint signing of the UNESCO/ILO (International Labour Organisation) Recommendation concerning the status of Teachers.

This year CEASA (the Council of Education Associations of South Australia) hosted the World Teachers Day event which was held at the Education Development Centre, Hindmarsh at 6.15pm on Friday 28th October. Recently appointed Minister Grace Portolesi attended the event and presented 53 association awards 

Due to the change in the presentation dates for our Leading Light awards, CEGSA was represented by 4 award

Tina Photakis receiving her World Teachers Day Award from Minister Grace Portolesi

winners. These were:

  • Steve Knipe; 2010 CEGSA Leader of the Year
  • Cherie Pickering; 2010 CEGSA Educator of the Year
  • Kim Martin; 2011 CEGSA Leading Light
  • Tina Photakis; 2011 CEGSA Educator of the Year

CEGSA would also like to congratulate Pru Mitchell, a long term supported of CEGSA who was a national award winner for the School Library Association of South Australia (SLASA) – ASLA Citation 2011.

To see the full photo gallery of winners visit the CEASA Gallery

AwardsWorld Teachers Day Awards